M-F: 9am-5pm (PST):
(877) RAPID-10

 24/7 Technical Support:

 Rapid Learning Member Access:

Rapid Learning Member Login
Note: If you are a legacy user of chemistry24 members, please request a new login access to the premium server with your full name and old login email via vip@rapidlearningcenter.com

 Rapid Courses:
Biology in 24 Hours Chemistry in 24 Hours Physics in 24 Hours Mathematics in 24 Hours

 Weekly Biology Tips:
Want to learn all the tips and tricks on biology mastery? Learn from the insiders and gain unfair advantage over your peers. This free newsletter is specifically designed for students who are taking biology. Start having the tips delivered to your inbox weekly, enter your name and email below to subscribe:


Your Name  

 Other Related Sites:

 Biology Study Lounge:
These study sheets are for quick review on the subjects. Refer to our rapid courses for comprehensive review.


Topic Review on "Title":

Taxonomy is the study of the classification of living things.  Taxonomy is ordered from kingdom, phylum, class, order, family, genus and species.  Most organisms are referred to in a standardized format, the binomial nomenclature, which is the genus and species name together, such as homo sapiens.

Modern Classification
Modern classification is based on classifying organisms based on evolutionary descent, rather than physical similarities.  Other techniques include using derived characteristics to see which organisms are most closely related based on adaptations, nucleic acid comparisons using computer analysis to determine relatedness, and counting the DNA mutations, which is a clock of how old a species is.

The Three Domains
In the modern system, domains are a level above kingdoms.  The new three domains divide organisms into prokaryotes and eukaryotes.  There are two domains for prokaryotes, the Archaea, which are ancient prokaryotes, and Bacteria, which are the more recent, common prokaryotes.  Eukaryotes are organized into the domain Eukarya.  The domain Archaea includes the kingdom archaebacteria, which are prokaryotes that live in extreme conditions.  The domain Bacteria includes the kingdom eubacteria, which are the more common bacteria.  The domain Eukarya includes the kingdoms protista, fungi, plantae, and animalia.  Protists are the bridge organism between prokaryotes and eukaryotes.  Fungi are decomposers.  Plantae are multi-cellular autotrophs, and animals are the multicellular consumers.

Rapid Study Kit for "Title":
Flash Movie Flash Game Flash Card
Core Concept Tutorial Problem Solving Drill Review Cheat Sheet

"Title" Tutorial Summary :
Organisms need to be classified in a standard system so that scientists in different countries can share research on the same organisms.  Taxonomy has a hierarchical level structure.  Modern classification has the three domains followed by the six kingdoms.  The domains separate based on whether prokaryote or eukaryote, and the kingdoms separate based on broad classes.

Tutorial Features:
  • Colorful pictures of every kingdom type
  • A pyramid chart of the classification system
  • A diagram involving the domains and kingdoms.
  • A timeline linking the three domains.

"Title" Topic List:


  • Introduction
  • Hierarchy
  • Example
  • Binomial Nomenclature

Modern Classification

  • Evolutionary Classification
  • Derived Characteristics
  • Nucleic Acid Comparisons
  • Mutation Rate

The Three Domains

  • Overview
  • Timeline
  • Archaebacteria
  • Eubacteria
  • Protista
  • Fungi
  • Plantae
  • Animalia

See all 24 lessons in high school biology, including concept tutorials, problem drills and cheat sheets:
Teach Yourself High School Biology Visually in 24 Hours

   © 2014 Rapid Learning Center. Privacy | Disclaimer Home | Order | Preview | Review | About | Contact
  Chemistry Survival, Biology Survival, Physics Survival and
Mathematics Survival Publishing are the divisions of Rapid Learning Inc.